Place Ad
Contact Us

NFC Jr. Midgets slip past Gibbs in OT to win Knox Metro Youth Football title

A happy bunch of CBFO NFC Jr. Midgets celebrate a Knox Metro Youth Football league championship moments after a 6-0 overtime win against Gibbs Saturday- Alan Sloan/farragutpress
CBFO’s NFC Jr. Midgets cut it close during the Knox Metro Youth Football league playoffs.

But just as they did in the semifinal round, Verlln Moser’s team made a handful of big plays at the end of Saturday’s championship game against Gibbs. The result was a 6-0 overtime win that not only earned CBFO a championship, but also capped an unbeaten season (9-0-1).

“Everybody played their hearts out,” coach Moser said. “It was a beautiful, beautiful, beautiful season, a great season. You guys worked hard, you deserved it.”

Cody Harvey’s 3-yard touchdown run in the first overtime was the game-winner.

Three CBFO gang-tackle plays netted Gibbs only two yards on its overtime possession. A huge blue and silver celebration erupted after a fourth-and-eight pass into the end zone was broken up by David Amos.

Other team members are Tony Sanseverino, Mitch Kleiber, Johnathan Moskal, Micah Jones, Adam Moser, Cole Turner, Matthew Terry, Cason Hewgley, Tyler Mitchell, McKenzie Green, Brandon Sapp, B.C. Johnson, Nicholas Clark, Grant Geist, Will Reynolds, Daniel Leamon, Erik Abston, Marcus Jeter, Brandon Clarke, Drew Hornback, Wade Lawhorn, Blaine Zimmer, Carlton Stine, Spencer Hipsher, Reid West, Tyler King and Ben Williams.

Moser’s assistant coaches are Jeff Breazeale, Chris Johnson, Rick Terry, Nick Moskal and Scott Leamon. Leamon was the architect of the huge offensive plays that helped CBFO rally past Halls in the closing seconds of a 14-8 semifinal playoff win.

  News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Subscribe | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004 farragutpress