Place Ad
Contact Us

Brown’s boys dethrone champs, show ‘no-quit’ spirit

Although they didn’t win the AFC Minor Pee Wee championship, Don Brown’s CBFO team dethroned the three-time defending Knox Metro Youth Football league champs along the way.

And their second-half performance in Saturday’s 29-12 championship game loss to Pilot drew praise from Brown.

“We talked to them at halftime, ‘don’t worry about the score, don’t worry about the first half,’ we just wanted to win the second-half,” coach Brown said of the 22-0 deficit at halftime. “That’s what they did. They’ve shown a lot of heart all year long.”

Overcoming a turnover to begin the third-quarter, CBFO held Pilot on downs and took over at its own 35 yard-line. Jordan Patrick’s 25-yard run set up Jake Bishop’s one-yard quarterback sneak touchdown early in the fourth quarter.

After Conner Brandon recovered a fumble, Dwayne Clemons ran for 30 yards to set up the other CBFO touchdown.

An eight-yard pass from Bishop to Patrick came before Bishop’s second one-yard quarterback sneak TD that made it 22-12 with 1:33 to play.

As league runner-ups, CBFO finished with a 14-4 overall record, 7-3 in league games. During a long winning streak, “we went six games straight without giving up a touchdown,” Brown said.

CBFO pulled-off a huge 6-0 upset victory against the three-time defending champion Roadrunners in the semifinals Nov. 3. “That’s the first time they’d been beaten in four years,” Brown said. Patrick’s 10-yard TD run was the difference.

Other CBFO players are Ryan Hubbuck, Skyler Brown, Robbie Leonard, Mitchell Neff, Wesley Monarch, Derek Chandler, Thomas Jackson, Dimante Golden, Jordan Buck, “3Way” McLaughlin, Zach Monroe, Logan White, Bobby Fricks, John Suhocki and Dominic DiGiovanni.

CBFO assistant coaches are Augie DiGiovanni, Kevin Bishop and Ed Neff.

  News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Subscribe | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004 farragutpress