Place Ad
Contact Us


Hester named to Honor Society at MC

Mary Rebecca Hester, daughter of Mark and Sally Hester of Farragut, and a 2001 Graduate of Farragut High School, has been named a member of the Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Honor Society at Maryville College. The society recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character. Rebecca has also been inducted into the National Psi Chi Honor Society in psychology and will serve as chapter treasurer in the fall.

Webb choral groups earn high ratings

Webb School Chamber Singers, Women’s Chorale and Festival Choir (combined choirs) groups received high honors at this year’s Heritage Festival in St. Louis, Mo., April 23-24. All three groups received a “Gold” rating. In addition, the singers earned first place in the following categories: Concert Choir, Women’s Choir and Chamber Ensemble. Webb School also won the Sweepstakes Trophy for the highest average of combined scores among the schools with more than one ensemble entered.

Roane State Dean’s List announced

More than 600 Roane State Community College students made the Dean’s List for spring semester 2004. To be eligible, a student must attain a 3.5 grade point average while attempting 12 or more semester hours. Area students making the Dean’s List include: 37922 ZIP code, Bailey, Penny Susan Stewart Brashears, Joseph Sage Bright, Joshua D. Davis, Whitney Nichole Furtsch, Alison Noel Grabeel, Beverly M. Guedry, Brandon Chase; 37923 ZIP code, Rhonda Kay Elmore, Heather Ashley Leasure, William Palmer and Carolyn Marie Wysinger.

Three Webb schoolers earn awards

Webb School of Knoxville juniors, Grant Richards-Jones and Evan Smith, and senior, Keegan Luttrell, earned national awards at this year’s Scholastic Art & Writing Awards competition in New York City. All three students were Gold Key award winners (the highest award offered) at the Regional Scholastic Art Awards in January and their entries were among the some 15,000 works of art eligible for national judging. Of those 15,000 entries, only about 500 individual works of art received awards on the national level.

Grant Richards-Jones received a Gold Award in photography for his entry, “Frank Sinatra.” National Gold Award winners earn a gold medal, a certificate, a place on the national winners list, and exhibition and publishing opportunities. Grant’s entry will also be among the other Gold Award-winning pieces on display at The Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C., from June 9 through Aug. 2, and will be included in the online galleries on the Scholastic Art & Writing Web site Keegan Luttrell’s entries, “Sense of Self” and “Untitled” earned her two Silver awards in digital imagery while Evan Smith also received a Silver Award in digital imagery for his piece, “Incandescence.” Silver Award winners receive a silver medal, a certificate, and a place on the national winners list.

Grant, Keegan and Evan have been invited to join the other 2004 national award-winners at this year’s National Awards Celebration in New York City, June 10 and 11, which will include a National Awards Ceremony at Carnegie Hall.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress