Place Ad
Contact Us


• DENSO North America Foundation (DNAF) has awarded the Pellissippi State Foundation a grant of $150,000 for new equipment and technology for Pellissippi State Technical Community College’s Blount County Center. DNAF representatives presented the check during a Monday, Dec. 13, ceremony at the center. The grant will be used to upgrade existing and purchase new equipment for a computer lab and a science lab at the Blount County campus. When the college eventually builds a new facility in the county, the equipment will be transferred there.

• Several West Knox students were inducted to the Spring 2004 National Honor Roll. Farragut High School honors went to Meghan Gay, Stephanie Halbert, Christin A. Lyle and Alexandra Primer. Bearden High School inductees were Jasmine D. Kirkland, Lindsey Truitt, Michael Vekasi and Ryan Webb. The National Honor Roll program was developed to recognize high school and middle school students who have attained academic success. To qualify for inclusion in the program, students must be in high school or middle school with a GPA of B or better; extracirricular activities are a plus. The student’s biography is included in a commemorative publication. For more information,


• Several Farragut Middle School students were Good Citizenship Recipients for the third six-week grading period. Criteria for the award were: follows rules and policies; obeys the law; performs civic duties; volunteers community service; environmentally conscious; respects authority and cooperates with peers and classmates. Recipients were: Amalia Beltran, Conni Boykins, Abby Burgin, Allie Burns, Katie Cargo, Tyler Choura, Andy Clendenen, Wes Cooke, Tyler Cox, Jeffrey Doan, Zach Drew, Kevin Ertel, Santana Ewers, Alex Farmer, Courtney French, Michael Giblock, Hailey Green, Megan Hansen, Patrick Hayford, Austin Headrick, Brittany Henegar, Hannah Holder, Jim Hollingsworth, Holly Ann Hooper, Julia Hsu, Reuben Izally, Michael Johnson, Danny Judiscak, Tyler Keyes, Mary Kimi, Distinie Kincaid, Christy Krauter, Kiera Lovin, Kyle Mann, Caroline Martin, Amanda May, Lauren McAllister, Brandon Merical, Michael Mihelic, Dillon Misner, Han Nguyen, Robert Norris, Michael Pemberton, Sydney Pemberton, Kali Porteous, Alicia Purcell, Hallie Reynolds, Aaron Richards, Bill Rutter, Kevin Sellers, Laura Speaks, Kathy Sumarriva, Alex Wang and Paige Wuerdeman.

• Registration for Spring 2005 semester continues at Pellissippi State Technical Community College through Wednesday, Jan. 12. Returning students may register at any time on the college’s Web site: After applying for admission, new students should make an advising appointment by calling 694-6556. Final spring registration is Monday, Jan. 10, and Wednesday, Jan. 12, at the Pellissippi Campus on Hardin Valley Road; Tuesday, Jan. 11, at Blount County Center and the Magnolia Avenue Campus and Wednesday, Jan. 12, at the Division Street Campus. Hours are 10:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. Classes begin Jan. 18. Call 694-6568 or visit

• Students who are new to Pellissippi State Technical Community College this spring are invited to attend “Pellissippi State Welcome,” an orientation program that introduces them to fellow students in a small group setting and covers the basics of how to succeed in college. The orientation session is scheduled from 9 a.m. to noon, Friday, Jan. 7, in the Cafeteria Annex in the Goins Administration Building on the PSTCC Hardin Valley campus. Students will explore college survival skills, get an introduction to campus services and resources, review major and degree options, learn about financial aid resources and register for spring semester. For more information and to reserve your space, call 539-7155.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress