Place Ad
Contact Us


• Hannah Fuller, Alex Keeton and John Manning of Knoxville were named to the fall 2004 dean’s list at American University in Washington, D.C. Fuller is a junior in the School of International Science majoring in international studies. Keeton is a freshman in the School of Public Affairs majoring in communication, legal studies, economics and government. Manning is a junior in the College of Arts and Sciences majoring in biology. Students must obtain a 3.5 grade point average or better on their semester courses to be named to the dean’s list.

• Michael Koszela, son of Henry and Pamela Koszela of Knoxville, has been awarded a scholarship for the 2005-2006 academic year to attend the University of Tennessee at Martin. Koszela is a freshman political science major and received the Chancellor’s Scholarship.

• Sara R. Cumpston, Meghan Elizabeth Elkins, Lisa Herrin, Amanda Lowry and Lindsay Preskenis were among 54 students who were recently initiated into the National Alpha Lambda Delta Honor Society at East Tennessee State University. Membership in the national organization is open to full-time freshmen who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better at a four-year college or university.

• The National Society of High School Scholars announced that Farragut High School student Jare’asa Turner has been selected for membership. The Society recognizes the top scholars in the nation and invites only those students who have achieved superior academic excellence. Membership in NSHSS entitles qualified students to enjoy a wide variety of benefits including scholarship opportunities, academic competitions, free events, member-only resources, publications, participation in programs offered by educational partners, online forums, personalized recognition items and publicity honors. Formed in 2002, The National Society of High School Scholars recognizes academic excellence at the high school level ad encourages members of the organization to apply their unique talents, vision and potential for the betterment of themselves and the world. Currently, there are more than 150,000 Society members, representing 15,000 high schools in nearly 20 countries. NSHSS advocates for scholarship opportunities for deserving young people and has awarded more than $1000,000 in scholarships since its inception just two years ago.

• Pellissippi State Technical Community College begins to welcome new students for the 2005-06 school term from 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m. Friday, Aug. 12. The school welcomes its general transfer students between 12:45-5 p.m., June 28; 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m., Aug. 5, 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m,. July 1, and 12:45-5 p.m,. Aug. 9. This is open to students in all majors and will provide an overview of college programs and information on such topics as class selection process, clubs and organizations, majors and careers, and financial aid. Other sessions for students interested in specific programs are as follows: Career technical students, 12:45-5 p.m., July 12; Engineering transfer and engineering technology students, 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m., July 15; Business transfer and business technology students, 8:45 a.m.-1 p..m., July 22 and Education and nursing students, 8:45 a.m.-1 p.m., July 29. All sessions will begin in the Goins Administration Building on the Pellissippi Campus off Hardin Valley Road in West Knoxville, and the college invites parents to attend with their children. For more information or to make reservations, call 865-539-7155 or email

• The Knoxville-Oak Ridge Chapter of the U. S. Naval Academy Alumni Association sponsored a picnic for members of the incoming USNA Classes of 2009 and 2010 and their families last Saturday at the Campbell Station Road Park gazebo. Candidates for the Class of 2009 include Erick Abercrombie, Farragut High School Class of 2004, who is attending NAPS this year. Michael Hendershott of Farragut is a candidate for the USNA Class of 2010.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress