Place Ad
Contact Us


• More than 670 students from 35 schools in East Tennessee participated in a multi-choice exam April 4 designed by mathematics professors for the Tennessee Middle School Mathematics Competition. Five hundred-forty students came to the Hardin Valley campus of Pellissippi State Technical Community College to participate in the competition, while the remainder took the exam at their school. The total number of participants is twice as many students as attended last year’s middle school math competition. Students from as far away as Crossville and Johnson City competed. The award for the top overall sixth-grade team went to West Valley Middle School from Knoxville; the award for the top overall seventh-grade team went to Robertsville Middle School from Oak Ridge and Jefferson Middle School from Oak Ridge was named the top eighth-grade team. The competition, supported and sponsored by Oak Ridge Associated University, was a collaborative effort of the mathematics departments at Austin Peay State University, Middle Tennessee State University, Pellissippi State, the University of Memphis, the University of Tennessee-Martin and Walters State Community College.

• Miami University students who achieved a 3.5 or better grade point average for first semester 2005-2006 have been named to the Dean’s List recognizing academic performance. Miami University is a state-assisted university located in southwestern Ohio offering more than 100 degree programs in humanities, science, engineering, business, education, fine arts and interdisciplinary studies. Those named to the Dean’s List are: Kevin Golshani and Alexander Mason Smith of Knoxville.

• Students from Farragut Middle School recently took part in a creative writing contest sponsored by Modern Woodmen of America, a national provider of fraternal financial services and programs. Students composed essays on the topic, “If I Could Change One Thing… .” First- place winner was Caroline Crawford, second-place winner was Daniel Xu, and third-place winner was Nadia Beydoun. All received trophies for their achievements.

• Jordan M. Greene, Robert T. Hall, Tyler Johnson, Jessica N. Lange, Laura A. Schoonmaker, Timothy J. Seneker and Lauren G. Senesac were named to the dean’s list for winter term 2006 at Furman University in Greenville, S.C. Students must earn a grade-point average of 3.4 or higher to be named to the dean’s list.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress