Place Ad
Contact Us


• Tate’s 6th Annual Regional Science Fair will be held Sunday, April 30, Monday, May 1, and Tuesday, May 2, at the Knoxville Christian Center, 818 North Cedar Bluff Road. Media can view the exhibits from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on Tuesday, May 2 with an awards ceremony immediately following. Prior to 2001, science fair winners from East Tennessee elementary schools had no further forum in which to compete. It was the end of the road. Tate’s School of Discovery decided to do something about that. Rebecca Preston, the computer teacher at Tate’s School of Discovery, with the help of Toni Brown, the science teacher, invited elementary schools from across Tennessee to participate in the Tate’s Regional Science Fair. This year the Tate’s Regional Science Fair will attract approximately 94 third through fifth-grade students from the eight following schools in East Tennessee: Tate’s School of Discovery, King’s Academy, Porter Elementary, Dogwood Elementary, Knoxville Montessori School, Hardin Valley Elementary, Episcopal of Knoxville, and St John Neumann. There are approximately 30 judges, who include scientists, engineers, professors and medical doctors. There will be three Grand Prize winners who will each receive a trophy and savings bonds. There will be four awards per grade in each of the following three categories: Physical Science, Life Science and Earth and Space Science. In addition to the science fair category awards, many local area businesses provide about 40 special awards related to various aspects of science. For more information, contact Rebecca Preston, fair director, at 865-693-8631 or

• The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is seeking nominations for the annual Tennessee History Teacher of the Year Award. The Institute, in partnership with Preserve America, inaugurated the award in 2004. The state winner will receive a $1,000 honorarium.

and will be in the running for the National History Teacher of the Year award to be selected this fall. His or her school library will receive a core archive of history books and materials. The deadline is May 1. For more information, contact Becky Verner, Tennessee coordinator, at 615-259-8724 or

• Christopher Lambert, 2003 Farragut High School graduate and son of William and Lisa Lambert of Knoxville, has been elected by the student body of the University of Alabama to serve as the next vice president of financial affairs in the 2006- 2007 Student Government Association. He will be in charge of the Financial Affairs Committee and will help disburse and track all funds in the SGA budget. Lambert is a senior at the University of Alabama and is majoring in banking and financial services. This past year Lambert served as treasurer of the SGA. He is currently president of his fraternity, Kappa Sigma, and a member of the Jasons, the oldest men’s honor society on campus.

• More than 670 students from 35 schools in East Tennessee participated in a multichoice exam April 4 designed by mathematics professors for the Tennessee Middle School Mathematics Competition. Five hundred and forty students came to the Hardin Valley campus of Pellissippi State Technical Community College to participate in the competition, while the remainder took the exam at their school. The total number of participants is twice as many students as attended last year’s middle school math competition. Students from as far away as Crossville and Johnson City competed. The award for the top overall sixth-grade team went to West Valley Middle School from Knoxville, the award for the top overall seventh-grade team went to Robertsville Middle School from Oak Ridge and Jefferson Middle School from Oak Ridge was named the top eighth-grade team. The competition, supported and sponsored by Oak Ridge Associated University, was a collaborative effort of the mathematics departments at Austin Peay State University, Middle Tennessee State University, Pellissippi State, the University of Memphis, the University of Tennessee-Martin and Walters State Community College.

• Miami University students who achieved a 3.5 or better grade point average for first semester 2005-2006 have been named to the Dean’s List recognizing academic performance. Miami University is a state-assisted university located in southwestern Ohio offering more than 100 degree programs in humanities, science, engineering, business, education, fine arts and interdisciplinary studies. Those named to the Dean’s List are: Knox Kevin Golshani and Alexander Mason Smith of Knoxville.

• Students from Farragut Middle recently took part in a creative writing contest sponsored by Modern Woodmen of America, a national provider of fraternal financial services and programs. Students composed essays on the topic, “If I Could Change One Thing… .” First place winner was Caroline Crawford, second place winner was Daniel Xu, and third place winner was Nadia Beydoun. All received trophies for their achievements.

• Jordan M. Greene, Robert T. Hall, Tyler Johnson, Jessica N. Lange, Laura A. Schoonmaker, Timothy J. Seneker and Lauren G. Senesac were named to the dean’s list for winter term 2006 at Furman University in Greenville, S.C. Students must earn a grade-point average of 3.4 or higher to be named to the dean’s list.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress