Place Ad
Contact Us


• Peter Klekamp, newly named assistant headmaster of the Episcopal School of Knoxville, has been selected by the National Association of Independent Schools to receive an NAIS Fellowship for Aspiring School Heads. The fellowship supports the professional development of independent school administrators who have shown significant leadership ability. Through intensive programming, mentoring, and specialized projects, NAIS Fellows develop their leadership capacities and learn about the major issues facing independent schools today. The program prepares these individuals to take on future leadership roles in education. Klekamp  is one of 71 Fellows for 2006. The 53 men and 18 women hail from NAIS member schools in 26 states and the District of Columbia. Klekamp, who is finishing his second year at the Episcopal School, served this year as middle school director and director of admissions. He came to Episcopal from the University Liggett School in Grosse Pointe, Mich, where he was dean of the seventh and eighth grades. He also served as admissions liaison and director of community service for the ULS middle school and taught American history and world cultures. Klekamp received his degree in secondary education with a minor in history from the University of Cincinnati and his masters degree in community counseling from the University of Detroit Mercy. He is a member of the National Middle School Association and the Rotary Club. The Episcopal School is an independent school which offers an interdisciplinary curriculum and interscholastic activities such as Youth Legislature, Model United Nations and Destination Imagination. The school is affiliated with the Episcopal Church and offers a faith-based environment, but students do not have to subscribe to any particular faith to attend. The school actively seeks children of diverse faith and background.

• Kathryn Earle, Bearden High School senior, Brittany Petree, Karns High School senior and Jill Pittman, Farragut High School senior, are among nine local seniors who have received a $500 scholarship from the Knox County Council PTA Scholarship Fund. The students were recognized at the KCCPTA Student Awards Banquet March 16.

• DePauw University first-year student Chelsea Lane Marquand of Knoxville is a community service volunteer during the 2006 spring semester. Through the entirely student-managed DePauw Community Service, DePauw students serve in 25 community organizations and agencies.

• Paul Giblock of Farragut, a senior computer science major at East Tennessee State University, has been selected for one of ten positions granted nationally in the Tennessee Tech Research Experience for Undergraduates. Funded by the National Science Foundation, the summer program affords promising students an opportunity to work on a project under the direction of a faculty mentor from Cookeville’s Tennessee Technological University. Giblock, who currently serves as vice president of the campus chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery, was among a group of students from ETSU Honors College who traveled to Nashville earlier this year to present posters of their research to state legislators and to meet with Gov. Phil Bredesen.

• The Indiana Alpha Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society at DePauw University has elected Bradley Thomas Giordano of Knoxville to membership. He was installed as a member on May 1, during an induction ceremony at the college in Greencastle, Ind. Giordano, a 2002 graduate of Knoxville Catholic High School, is a senior at DePauw. He was previously named a Holton Memorial Scholar at DePauw and has been named to the dean’s list every semester since his freshman year. He has also been elected to membership in Mortar Board.

the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and Psi Chi, the national honor society in psychology. He will graduate from DePauw in May with a bachelor’s degree in psychology.

• The Bearden High School Foundation Board has contracted with Alumni Research, Inc., to collect and compile alumni information into a hardbound directory. Alumni Research is in the process of contacting BHS graduates who have provided telephone numbers and addresses to verify biographical information. If you are a BHS graduate and want to be included in the directory, contact Alumni Research, Inc., by telephone at 800-299-1230, or send information to them at 3333 U.S. Highway 19, Suite 6, Holiday, FL 34691. Contact information is also available at

• The next nationwide ACT test date for college-bound high school students is Saturday, June 10. Students must register online or have their paper registrations postmarked by the end of the day May 5. Late registration postmark deadline is May 19 (an additional $18 late fee is required for late registration after May 5). The ACT includes an optional Writing Test. Most colleges do not require a writing score, so students should check the admissions requirements of colleges they are considering before registering for the ACT. The cost is $29 without and $43 with the Writing Test. Students who opt to take the Writing Test will add 30 minutes to the normal 3-hour testing time.

• Egan Monroe, daughter of Harold Monroe and Mary Monroe-Ellis of Farragut, has accepted a Buschman Award and a Trustee scholarship from Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio. Monroe will graduate this spring from Knoxville Catholic High School where she is active in soccer, Girl Scouts, Interact Club and Y-Teens. She plans to major in nursing at Xavier.

• Roane State Community College honored students at its annual Awards Night recently. The ceremony celebrated students who excelled academically during the 2005-06 school year. Local winners included Charles Furtner, radiologic technology scholastic award; Cathy Herrell, occupational therapy assistant award of recognition; Amanda Hopwood, Christine Mills Nursing Award; Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges; Christine Gantt, respiratory therapy outstanding academic achievement; Christine Ladd, Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges; Heather Fries, Campus Activities Board chairman; and Charles Williamson, Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress