Place Ad
Contact Us

Town E. coli report erred

The Farragut Board of Mayor and Aldermen heard new information concerning the issue of E. Coli bacteria in the creek in Campbell station Park during the regular meeting May 25.

Shari Cox, town staff member and representative on the town Stormwater Advisory Commit-tee, told the FBMA she had disseminated incorrect information about the condition.

I want to apologize to the Board for what I said, she said.

In a previous meeting, Cox told the Board that a citizen had taken it upon himself to have the water from the creek tested. The results of the test, she said previously, showed coliform levels and E. Coli levels that were off the scale.

In the meeting Thursday, Cox said her previous statements were a repeat of someone elses comments.

The actual E. Coli levels were 47 parts per million while state-mandated acceptability levels were 147 ppm. It was the coliform levels that are extremely high.

Coliforms, by definition, are bacterial organisms that live in the intestinal tract of people and animals.

These are usually transmitted through fecal material.

In other business, the FBMA approved in a 41 vote to approve an ordinance to allow additional wall signs on the Gander Mountain development at the request of Farragut Land Partners, LLC. Alderman Thomas Rosseel voted against the measure.

Two of the signs are directional, which Rosseel said he could understand. The other two, however, were not.

I really dont understand the purpose of these signs, he said.

Rosseel also commented on the large size of the sign, which is to face Interstate 40, and read a letter from resident Jeff Elliott protesting the passing of the sign ordinance.

In my opinion, this ordinance is neither reasonable nor appropriate in the town, Rosseel said.

Mayor W. Edward Eddy Ford III said this ordinance would apply only to the C-2 districts.

I disagree with Alderman Rosseel, said Vice Mayor Mike Haynes. I know Jeff Elliott and hes the only one who has come out against this.

In unrelated matters, FBMA members made appointments to the various committees.

Edward St. Clair was reappointed to the Farragut Municipal Planning Commission and Reta Holladay will take the place of outgoing Commissioner Holly Kelly.

The Board reappointed Stephen Dietz, Ed Glass, James Marks, Eugene Ritter and David Scott for two-year terms to the Visual Resources Review Board. Ron Rochelle was appointed to fulfill the unexpired seat of Jerry Martin.

Gary Schneider was reappointed to a two-year term on the Stormwater Advisory Committee and John Tyner

was a new appointment to the


Ronald German and Duane Winkler were reappointed for a two-year term to the Personnel Committee while Steve Hildebrand was a new appointment, also for a two-year term. John Underwood and Regina Foy were appointed for a one-year term.

Jerome Moore, Bill Parker and Pat Sloan were reappointed for two-year terms to the Farragut Parks and Athletics Council.

On the Folklife Museum Committee, Carl Bacon, Barbara Beeler, John Campbell, Doris Henning, Roberta Jones, Mike Karnitz, Malcolm Shell and Judy Solomon were all reappointed for two-year terms. Doris Owens was reappointed as director.

Linda Ford and Marty Rodgers were reappointed to the Decorating Committee. Jennine Mitchell was a new appointment to the committee.

Louis LaMarche was reappointed for a five-year term to the Board of Zoning Appeals.

Chris Duncan and Gary Edsell were reappointed for three-year terms to the Board of Plumbing and Gas/Mechanical examiners.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress