Place Ad
Contact Us

Sterling, Kirby-Jones, Smith, Franklin each named Mr. Football Finalists

Four westside high school football players are in the running for TSSAA's top individual award as broken down by linemen and skill position in each Division I and Division II classification statewide.

Farragut tailback André Sterling, Knoxville Catholic tailback Harrison Smith, KCHS lineman T.J. Franklin and Webb School lineman A.J. Kirby-Jones have each qualified as Mr. Football Finalist (final three) in public and private school classifications.

Winners will be named Monday evening, Nov. 27, during the 22nd Annual American General Mr. Football Awards at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville.

Sterling, a 5-foot-11, 182-pound junior who rushed for 2,043 yards and 23 touchdowns in 2006, is a Mr. Football finalist among three backs in Class 5A. He joins Aaron Crawford of Ridgeway and Scott Thomas of Riverdale.

Smith, a 6-foot-3, 210-pound senior considered a Division I-A prospect being recruited by Tennessee and Notre Dame among major programs, rushed for 1,296 yards, caught 453 yards in passes and scored 27 touchdowns in 13 games (12-1 Irish final record).

Smith is seeking Mr. Football honors among backs in Class 3A along with Dennis Rogan of Fulton and Randall Toney of Station Camp.

Franklin, a 6-6, 250-pound senior offensive/defensive lineman, is seeking Mr. Football Lineman honors in Class 3A versus J.T. Beasley of Dyersburg and Alex Watkins of Haywood.

Kirby-Jones, a 5-foot-10, 220-pound senior offensive/defensive lineman for the Division II AA state champion Spartans, is seeking Mr. Football honors in the Class A/AA private class against Eric Davis of Davidson Academy and Jay Wilson of Pope John Paul II.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress