Place Ad
Contact Us

sports briefs

• Smoky Mountain Juniors Volleyball Club recently announced its Girls Junior Olympic Volleyball teams for the upcoming 2007 season. Smoky Mountain players, 155 strong from 22 area high schools and 15 middle schools, will compete in tournaments in Indiana, Virginia, Georgia and throughout the South against the best teams from those regions. Thirty coaches will lead the SMJVC Jr. Olympic players. (Age) 18-1Team: Kelsey Benorden (Farragut), Sara Blair (Webb School), Natalie Deuschle and Kristan Hall (Knoxville Catholic) and Rachel Menhinick and Caroline Winstel (Bearden). 18-2 Team: Brittany Preson (Webb School) and Eden Watts, Lindsey West and Kayleigh Zavadil (Farragut). 17–1 Team: Amanda Mitchell and Amber Pyle (Farragut). 17–2 Team: Brittney Basham and Brianna Rittenhouse (Bearden), Marian Curtner (Farragut) and Katie Stewart (Webb School). 16–1 Team: Cara Gregg, Natalie Hayes, Despina Klonaris and Kerri Winstead (Farragut) and Stephanie Williams (Webb)). 16–2 Team: Macy Fain, Ariel Lebert, Julia Mathes and Bryanna Reveiz (Farragut). 16- 3 Team: Riley Armstrong and Melissa White (Bearden), Kendall Hill (Webb), Claire O’Kelley (CAK) and Grace Yarnell (Farragut). 15–1 Team: Abbey Bean, Rachel Crist, Santana Ewers, Lindsey Hatcher and Kylie Pearson (Webb). 15–2 Team: Avery Askew, Sarah Fultz, Eileen Robinson and Olivia Thornton (Webb) and Amber Sproul (Bearden). 14–1 Team: Kelsey Bellich, Brittany Rooney, Paige West and Riley Miller (Farragut Middle), Stephanie Biggs and Megan Hatcher (Webb), Sloane Goufon (Bearden Middle) and Tara Robertson (West Valley Middle). 14–2 Team: Veronica Cieslik and Alex Harris-Garcia (St. John Neumann), Kelsey Hande, Chelsey Smith and Courtney Madden (Farragut Middle), Kali Rittenhouse (Cedar Bluff Middle), Allison Smith (Webb) and Courtney Smith. 14–3 Team: Maria Carney (CAK), Kathryn Coffey and Carsen Hill (Webb) and Green (West Valley). 13-1: Shannon Bohnenberger, Meghan Glintenkamp, Christine Guerrette, Kayla Hartman and Kendall Knisley (Farragut Middle), Mackenzie Pearson (Farragut Middle), Gracie Eakin and Mackenzie Pearson (Webb School) and Whitney Tate (West Valley). 13–2 Team: Julia Alves and Rebeka Carson (Farragut Middle), Alexandra Cave and Payton Walker (Cedar Bluff Middle), Alexis Hamilton (St. John Neumann) and Halley Wardley (West Valley Middle) 12–1: Kristen Barnett, Whitney Walker, Megan Chang and Bridgett Guidsh (Farragut Middle), Delany Brown (CAK), Taylor Tate (West Valley) and Reagan Winstead (Cedar Bluff Middle).

• Evaluations for Farragut Baseball, Inc. are set Feb. 24-25. Tryouts will be held in the Farragut Middle School gym for younger leagues and on the fields for the two oldest leagues. Only registered players should attend. Players attending evaluations at the school should not wear cleats. All players should bring their glove. Bats and balls provided. For complete Farragut Baseball, Inc. information, go to All FB, Inc. coaches should plan to attend a league-wide meeting from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m., Feb. 24, in the FMS gym.

• Knoxville Lacrosse spring season registration for new or returning recreational league players (fourth- through sixth-grade boys) will be held 5 to 6 p.m., Tuesday, Feb. 27, in the Farragut Middle School Cafeteria. Knoxville Lacrosse A/B players (seventh- and eighth-grade boys) that missed the January registration may also register at this time. Returning players must have a US Lacrosse membership number valid until May 31, 2007. New players should visit the US Lacrosse Web site — — to join. For more information, contact Toni Joyce at 865-966-7014 or check out the Web site:


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress