Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• Elizabeth Carroll of Farragut graduated with a Juris Doctor degree from The George Washington University Law School during commencement ceremonies May 20, on the National Mall in Washington, DC. Carroll graduated from the Webb School of Knoxville in 2000. In 2004, she graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Furman University with a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics. The George Washington University Law School awarded Carroll a Presidential Scholarship prior to matriculation, and while there, she was a Thurgood Marshall Scholar. Elizabeth will join the Atlanta office of Thompson Hine LLP, one of the largest business law firms in the United States with more than 370 lawyers in eight offices. Her parents, Mike and Robin Carroll, reside in Farragut.

• Zachary Brent Marquand of Knoxville was among 514 graduating students who received degrees at DePauw University's 168th commencement Sunday, May 20. Marquand received a Bachelor of Arts degree with a major in Latin and economics. Karen Koning AbuZayd, commissioner-general of the United Nations Relief and Works Agency and 1963 graduate of DePauw, provided commencement address to the Class of 2007. AbuZayd also received the McNaughton Medal for Public Service.

• David Taylor of 515 Serenity Lane, Knoxville, has completed his Ashland University degree requirements in May 2007. He received a Master of Business Administration degree in executive management. Ashland University is a private, comprehensive institution located in north central Ohio between Cleveland and Columbus.

• Middle-schoolers participated in the 5th annual Tennessee Middle School Mathematics Competition at Pellissippi State Technical Community College April 27. A total of 320 students from 20 middle schools throughout Knox and Anderson counties participated. Students were permitted to use calculators, including graphing calculators, on the exam. Trophies and gift cards were awarded to the top five students at each grade level. Here are the top 10 students in each grade and their schools, listed with scores from highest to lowest: Eighth-grade: Jack Li, Jefferson; Leon Zhang, Jefferson; Patrick Tae, Robertsville; Edward Ko, Farragut; Carly Wingfield, South-Doyle; Andrew Hanson, Farragut; Mattie Lloyd, Jefferson; Kaitlin Darby, Halls; Tandy Carmicheal, Karns and Yajit Jain, Robertsville. Seventh-grade: Rob Jones, West Valley; Emily McLean, Jefferson; Demetri Bovopoulos, Bearden; Christopher Brittain, Jefferson; Jerry Feng, Farragut; Derek Xu, Farragut; Madison Stott, Bearden; Julie Davenport, First Lutheran; Jun Hyoung Gil, West Valley; Josh Smith, West Valley and Sarah Beth Maddox, Karns. Sixth-grade: Jason Xiong, Farragut; Sam Shadwell, Greenway; Richard Sholly, St. Joseph; Jim Andress, Jefferson; Timothy Blackwell, Greenway; Chris Buckman, Farragut; Brett Fries, Bearden; Adam Becklehimer, Jefferson; Hannah Feiten, Farragut; Carter Chain and Alex Selwitz, Farragut (tied score).

• South College has named the following area residents to the Winter Quarter 2007Academic Achievers Lists: Dean’s List: Anderson, Lisa; Bannister, Amanda; Barth, Crystal; Dodd, Douglas; Durham, Jodi; Eidemiller, Jennifer; Franklin, Christy; Fry, Tanya; Holzer, Suzette; Keel, Lorie; Kennedy, Jodi; Mihalko, Michael; Morrow, Maggie; Muller, John; Pietrzak, Maria; Stocksett, Jennifer; Vaughn, Kristi and Wilson, Kristi. President’s List: Benson, Bradley; Bunner, Deborah; Fraize, Nichole; Galli, Stefanie; Geraghty, Yvonne; Green, Melissa;Hassinger, Jennifer; Lucas, Brandon; Middleton, Bradford; Olandt, Candy; Poteet, Rhae; Thompson, Alishia; Towne, Sheri; Walker, Kandise and Weimer, Elyse. President’s List Mid-Quarter: Premura, Sara and Wright, Wesley. Students with a grade-point average of at least 3.5 qualify for the South College Dean’s List. Students with a grade-point average of 4.0 qualify for the President's List. Mid-Quarter list recognizes students who began classes halfway through the quarter.

• Tyler Johnson of Knoxville has been awarded one of Lipscomb University’s top academic honors for the 2006-07 school year. Johnson was presented the Art Achievement award in an April ceremony. The award is given to the senior art student with the highest GPA and outstanding achievement in graphic design.

• C-SPAN announced that Kristen Campbell, Kelly Zitka and Samantha White, all students at Farragut Middle School, received third-prize in StudentCam, a video documentary contest that invites middle and high school students to produce a video exploring a political topic using C-SPAN programming.

• Two hundred sixty Knox County eight-graders will spend May 31 and June 1 in 30 area businesses learning what it’s like in the world of work as interns in the 11th annual Schooled for Success program. Students will explore various careers, perform appropriate employee tasks, build a work record and have a real work experience.

• Matthew Jones and Lynsey Jones, children of Dennis and Karen Jones, have been chosen as June Dairy Month Co-Chairmen for Knox County. Both students are active in 4-H. Matthew’s main projects are engineering and safety, and leadership and citizenship. He was the state 4-H winner in Level 1 engineering and safety science project and a 4-H All-Star. Matthew is a junior at Bearden High School. Lynsey’s projects include nutrition/food science, photography, line and design, personal development and leadership and citizenship. She has won numerous awards, including the 4-H poster contest, 4-H Honor Club and Knox County Outstanding 4-H Club Member. Lynsey is a sixth-grader at Bearden Middle School.

• Lipscomb University honored 306 graduates at its graduation ceremony May 5, including the following: David Beaman, Bachelor of Science, engineering mechanics; Allison Cook, Bachelor of Science, interdisciplinary teaching; Heather Davis, Bachelor of Arts, interdisciplinary teaching; Kathryn Frame, Bachelor of Arts, communication; Katie Hitzing, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, nursing; Tyler Johnson, Bachelor of Arts, art; Amanda Jones, Bachelor of Science in Nursing, nursing.

• Farragut High School qualified a record six individuals to compete in the state chess championships. Individual results for the high school section are: Jesse Jones, third-place; Andrew Mungan, 14th-place, Cory Paul, 16th-place and Noel Herrmann, 25th-place. Individual results for junior high section are: Evan Noon, 14th-place and Shreyas Dahotre, 20th-place. A FHS team competing in the high school section consisted of Jesse Jones, Andrew Mungan, Cory Paul and Justin Menestrina, and won second-place. A FHS team competing in the junior high section consisted of Evan Noon, Shreyas Dahotre and Clayton Gotwals, and won ninth-place.

• Farragut High School student Jesse Jones won the Knoxville Writer’s Guild’s “KWG Young Writers Prize in Poetry.” The contest is open to all high school students in East Tennessee, and is judged using a rigorous, double-blind procedure. This year they received about 160 entries. The winner receives $150 and an invitation to read his or her poem to the Guild membership. Jones is the first winner ever from FHS.

• Farragut High School Class of 1977 will be holding its 30th reunion Saturday, July 21, at Fox Den Country Club. Additional events will be held prior to the reunion. Further information is available at, or call Rhonda Luebke at 865-693-7895, Reneau Cooper Howard at 865-384-4631 or Rena Camp Amerson at 865-705-3600.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress