Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class James W. Morris, a 1991 graduate of Farragut High School, was recently awarded the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal while serving as a recruiter assigned to Navy Recruiting District Miami. With the attainment of three prior service contracts and one new training contract, Morris rose to the Commanding Officer’s production challenge. His efforts were critical to the Navy Recruiting Station Brookesville’s and Navy Recruiting District Miami’s recruiting production and mission goals. Morris joined the Navy in March 2002.

• Cedar Bluff PTSA’s annual membership event “Spread your wings ... Do great things” will begin at 6 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 27, in the Cedar Bluff Middle School cafeteria. PTSA will be hosting an ice cream party to celebrate the closing of the PTSA membership drive as well as the completion of Phase 1 of the new Cedar Bluff Elementary School. On hand for questions will be Karen Carson, School Board chairperson, principals, representatives from Merit Construction and other Knox County officials. PTSA will also conduct a short business meeting during the event.

• The Episcopal School of Knoxville is hosting a sporting clay-shooting event called “Shooting for Scholarships” beginning at 2 p.m., Sunday, Aug. 26, at the Chilhowee Sportsman’s Club in Maryville. Entry fee is $145 per shooter and includes ammunition. All proceeds will benefit The Episcopal School’s Scholarship Fund. Contestants will shoot at 12 stations and attend an awards ceremony at the close of the competition. Prizes will be given for first- and second-place and as door prizes. Guests will enjoy hors d’oeurves and drinks. In addition to individual shooters’ entries, the school is making sponsorships available. These include $750 corporate sponsorships for teams of four with shells, signage and scorecard recognition, and regular team sponsorships for $500. To register or get more information, contact Harrison Stuart, assistant director of development, at 865-218-4497 or

• Jennifer Muhlheim, a senior at Webb School of Knoxville, participated in the 2007 National Youth Leadership Forum on Medicine at Emory University and nearby hospitals in Atlanta, Ga., this summer. To be accepted into this program, participants must “demonstrate strong academic abilities, leadership and a strong interest in the career field of medicine.” At this forum, Jennifer experienced “a hands-on curriculum, which includes presentations by internationally-recognized speakers, clinical and research visits, medical school visits and simulation activities.” Jennifer is the daughter of Mike and Michele Muhlheim of Farragut.

• Michael “Drew” Rzezutko, a 2003 Farragut High School graduate, has graduated from Miami University, Oxford, Ohio, with a Bachelor of Science degree this May. He was named to the Dean’s List this past semester. Drew will be attending The University of Tennessee this fall to pursue his Master of Business Administration degree. 

• Dr. David Williams celebrates 28 years of math instruction with “The Most Unusual Math” contest. Tell Williams about your most unusual use of math or your most interesting or clever use of numbers this summer. Math prizes such as Einstein action figures, Newton’s cradle, three-way yo-yos, puzzles and games will be given to winners. Deadline is Sunday, Sept. 30. Contest is open to all area students, high school age and under. For more information, call 865-256-1828.

• Seventeen music, art and drama/theatre teachers from Knox County Schools were selected to attend the 2007 Tennessee Arts Academy July 8-13. The academy is a nationally recognized flagship program of intensive teacher training sponsored by the Arts Education Program of the Tennessee Department of Education. Included in this group were the following teachers: Terri King, Farragut Middle School; Marie Laken, FMS; Amy Logan, Farragut Intermediate School; Sherrie Rumbolt, Bearden Elementary School; Brenda Swinson, A.L. Lotts Elementary School; and Carol Villaverde, West Valley Middle School.

• Several Lipscomb University students, including Christine Perry of Knoxville, are working in far away lands. Perry traveled to Peru this summer, joining approximately 100 Lipscomb-related servants headed to 13 nations around the globe to practice selfless service, such as coordinating medical clinics, holding vacation Bible schools and conducting construction projects. In Peru, Perry’s mission team provided free medical care to people in underprivileged areas. 

• Pellissippi State Technical Community College is inviting arts and crafts exhibitors to participate in the fourth annual Pellissippi State Hot Air Balloon Festival, scheduled from 4 to 9 p.m., Friday, Sept. 28, and 11 a.m. to 9 p.m., Saturday, Sept. 29, at the Pellissippi Campus off Hardin Valley Road. Fee for a single booth is $90, and a double booth is $175. Electricity is available for an additional $10. Arts and crafts exhibitor applications are being accepted through Saturday, Sept. 1. To request more information or an exhibitor application, contact the Pellissippi State Foundation at 865-694-6528 or visit www.pstcc. edu/balloon. Applications can also be downloaded from the Web site by clicking on “Vendors.”

• Nine faculty and staff members at Pellissippi State Technical Community College earned recognition recently at the college’s 2007 Employee Awards Ceremony, including Roger Crowe, Carol Brenner, Mary Nietling, Leigh Anne Touzeau,Teresa Fulcher, Dave Walton, Karen Ghezawi, Diane Benson and Scott Bell. All winners received a cash award, plaque and medallion provided by the Pellissippi State Foundation.

• Caroline Best, an associate mathematics professor at Pellissippi State Technical Community College, is the first graduate of a distance-learning program created to make earning a doctoral degree more convenient for Southern Appalachian teachers with some background in mathematics. Best received her doctorate in math education from The University of Tennessee in December after completing the Appalachian Collaborative Center for Learning, Assessment and Instruction in Mathematics program.

• Three East Tennessee students received honorable mention awards in the National AAA 63rd Annual Traffic Safety Poster Program for the 2006-2007 school year. AAA congratulates Hannah Heater of Cedar Bluff Primary School, Anali Castilln, a senior at Bradley Central High School, and Bearden High School junior Tara Fentress. Last year as a first-grader, Heater won second-place. This year Heater’s poster illustrated the need for children to use booster seats. Anali Castilln, who received a second-place award from AAA East Tennessee, showed the dangers of alcohol in her poster which read “Don’t Mix Alcohol and Driving.” Tara Fentress’s poster shows a cell phone and MP3 player in front of a wrecked car to warn drivers of the dangers of being distracted while behind the wheel.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress