Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• South College has named the following area students to its Winter Quarter 2008 Dean’s List: Brittany Dewitt, Douglas Dodd, Mehry Gast, Sheila Hannus, Tracy Jernigan, Thomas Kelley, David Lambert, Jennfer Massey, Heather Miller, Jennifer Raney, Melvin Sisco, Sarah Steele, Kandise Walker, and Courtney Williams. The following students have been named to the college’s Winter Quarter 2008 President’s List: Lisa Anderson, Linda Burnett, Patrick Burritt, Erin Dilly, Kimberly Epley, Nichole Fraize, Christy Franklin, Tabya Fry, Stefanie Galli, Yvonne Geraghty, Andrea Hetman, Renee Kaisare, Vincent McKelvey, Minh-Hai Nguyen, Candy Olandt, Jessica Sands, Megan Thomas, Charlotte Thompson, Wesley Wright, and Carrie Wyatt. Students with a grade-point average of 3.5 qualify for the Dean’s List. To quakify for the President’s List, students must maintain a 4.0 GPA.

• City of Knoxville Arts and Cultural Alliance congratulates the following area students who recently received national awards at The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards of 2008 competition in New York, N.Y.: Allyne Austin, eighth-grade, West Valley Middle School, Silver Award, Printmaking; Jessica Bindrim, 10th-grade, Webb School Of Knoxville, Silver Award, Mixed Media; Samantha Cantrell, eighth-grade, Webb School of Knoxville, Gold Award, Mixed Media; Drew Farr, seventh-grade, Webb School Of Knoxville, American Visions Award, Drawing; Emily Harrison, seventh-grade, Webb School Of Knoxville, Silver Award, Sculpture; Natalia Hernandez, 12th-grade, Farragut High School, Gold Award, Printmaking; Dakota Leboeuf, 11th-grade, Bearden High School, Silver Award, Photography; Ben Nelson, 10th-grade, Webb School of Knoxville, Gold Award, Video and Film; Matthew Patteson, 12th-grade, Webb School of Knoxville, Silver Award, Art Portfolio; Hannah Rosson, seventh-grade, Webb School of Knoxville, Gold Award, Sculpture; Katie Stewart, 12-grade , Webb School of Knoxville, Silver Award, Drawing; Rachel Van Der Merwe, 12th-grade, Van Der Merwe Home School, Gold Award, Video and Film and Georgia Vogel, 12th-grade, Webb School of Knoxville, Gold Award, Photography. More than 1,100 of America’s most talented junior high and high school students in grades seven through 12, representing nearly every state in the country, were chosen to receive national awards as well as opportunities for writing and art scholarships. Fifteen of 31 awards given in Tennessee went to Knoxville students. Award recipients will be honored at a special ceremony Carnegie Hall in New York. Images for all of these works can be found on the Arts & Culture Alliance’s Web site at

• Hardin Valley Academy’s “Meet the Coaches Night” beginning at 7 p.m., Tuesday, April 29, has been moved to First Baptist Church, Concord.

• Town of Farragut will sponsor the 2008 Farragut Primary Schools Art Show from Thursday, May 1, through Friday, May 9, at Farragut Town Hall. Art will consist of work by Farragut’s most talented primary artists from Farragut Primary School, Knoxville Christian School and St. John Neumann Catholic School and may be viewed at any time during business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. A reception to honor the artists will be held from 5 to 6:30 p.m., at Town Hall. For additional information, call 865-966-7057.

• The University of Tennesee announces Douglas A. Blaze has been named dean of its College of Law. Blaze, a 15-year faculty member and administrator, has been the interim associate dean for academic affairs. He also is the Art Stolnitz and Elvin E. Overton Distinguished Profes-sor of Law.

• Graduation Celebration committee of Farragut High School will host a pancacke breakfast from 8 to 10 a.m., Saturday, April 26, at Aubrey’s in Farragut. Funds raised from the breakfast will be used to offset costs of Graduation Celebration, formerly known as Project Graduation, an all-evening event for graduating seniors held the night of graduation. Tickets for the breakfast will be $5 and may be purchased at FHS or at the door. For more information, call FHS at 865-966-9775.

• Farragut High School Science Academy will present its third in a series of scientific lectures beginning at 7 p.m., Thursday, April 24, in FHS library. Dr. Veerle Keppens, associate professor in Materials Physics and Physical Acoustics researching elastic properties and lattice dynamics of novel materials from The University of Tennessee, will present “Listening to the Materials.” A reception will immediately follow the presentation.

• Farragut High School’s Leader-ship initiative will host “Jamfest 2008” beginning at 7 p.m., Friday, April 25, in FHS gym. Event will feature more than 10 live bands from the Knoxville area. Bands will include: Monkey Lamp Shade, Wakee and the Masons, Warrior Princess, Richard, Amwidkle, Kappitol, Busted Stuff, Kaboom and Turbo Juice and Thunder Lemons. Cost is $3 for students and $5 for adults. For additional information, call 865-966-9775.

• Farragut Middle School will host a program on bullying by Knox County Schools representative Marty Iroff beginning at 6:30 p.m., Monday, May 12, in FMS Studio Theatre. Light hors d’oeuvres will be served prior to program.

• Bearden High School parents will host an annual Project Graduation celebration, a fun-filled, overnight party for all graduating seniors, from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m., Friday, May 16, at Fort Sanders Health and Fitness Center. Event is alcohol-free and is intended to provide a safe, chaperoned alternative to private parties. To purchase tickets, volunteer, offer financial support or for more information about this event, call Kris or Jeff Jones at 865-691-4700.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress