Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• Farragut Primary, Intermediate and Middle Schools will hold New Student Registration at the following times: Beginning Friday, July 18, through Monday, Aug. 11, registration will be held from 1 to 3 p.m. each Monday and Tuesday and from 8 a.m. to noon each Thursday and Friday. There will be no registration hours on Wednesdays. The following exceptions apply: There will be no Primary and Intermediate School registration Monday, July 21. There will be no Middle School registration Tuesday, July 22. School begins Monday, Aug. 11. To expedite the registration process please bring the following items to registration: Tennessee School Immunization Certificate, birth certificate, social security card and proof of residence in the Farragut district. If moving from outside Knox County please include the address of your child’s previous school and, if possible, a copy of the student’s last report card.

• Texas State University-San Marcos has announced the following students were among its graduates during commencement ceremonies held Friday, May 9 and Saturday, May 10, at the university: Briana N. Reichert received a Bachelor’s in Mass Communication and Public Relations. Candice M. Dickerson received a Master’s in Anthropology.

• Tulane University announces Caron Christison received an undergraduate degree during its 2008 Commencement Ceremony held Saturday, May 17, in the Louisiana Superdome.

• Pomona College announces David McCormick, son of Mark and Bonnie McCormick and a graduate of Farragut High School, received a Bachelor of Arts in Molecular Biology and German at the college’s Commencement Ceremony, held Sunday, May 18. While a student at Pomona, McCormick founded the Claremont Scuba Divers club. He graduated with distinction and was awarded a Fulbright fellowship to study biology at Phillips-Universitat Marburg in Germany.

• Bonny Kate Chapter, Daughter of the American Revolution has awarded a Good Citizens Award to Elizabeth Dunn of Knoxville Catholic High School. The purpose of the award is to recognize students who exemplify outstanding qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism in their homes, schools and communities.

• Belmont University announces it has named Kevin Warren, a 2007 Farragut High School graduate and the son of Maria Warren and the late Brian K. Warren, to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List. Eligibility is based on a course load of 12 hours and a quality grade-point average of 3.5 with no grades below a C.

• Pellissippi State Technical Com-munity College announces it has selected Associate Professor Kathy Byrd to be the new dean of the English Department. Byrd replaces Lois Reynolds, who recently stepped down after serving in the position for 18 years. Byrd, a member of the English faculty since 1992, taught at PSTCC’s Blount County Center for 15 years and served as coordinator of the Dual Enrollment program for the past year. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from The University of Tennessee. She taught journalism and English at Illinois State University, The University of Cincinnati and Maryville College before coming to Pellissippi State as an instructor in English. She was promoted to assistant professor in 1995 and associate professor in 1999. Byrd has been a member of the college’s Faculty Council for 11 years and served a two-year term as president. In 1998-99, she received Pellissippi State’s Outstanding Full-time Faculty award. In 2003 she was appointed by Gov. Phil Bredesen as faculty representative to the Tennessee Board of Regents, the college’s governing body. She co-chaired the Steering Committee and led the TBR Faculty Forum in Nashville in 2007.

• The University of Tennessee, Chattanooga announces the following students have been named to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List: Serena A. Allen, Caroline P. Board, Sara Kathleen Brinn, Nicholas S. Cakmes, Sarah Rachelle Carithers, Chelsea L. Delay, Madelyn Grace Esposito, Brandy L. Hemmer, David Walker Hixson, Abigail Marie Hyde, Kayla Johnson, Emily Kohntopp, Daniel S. Long, David Bryan Mann, Robert Tyler Neff, Jse F. Perez Jr., Brian C. Whitenburg, and Matthew Pierce Zingg.

• The University of Tennessee, Chattanooga announces the following local students received their degrees during its 2008 commencement ceremony: Sarah Louise Hebbele, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in communications; Dawn Alane Hickman earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in art and Emily Kathryn Williams earned a Bachelor of Science degree.

• Furman University announces the following local students have been inducted into its Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society: Sarah A. Campbell, daughter of Dr. Markus Campbell, Michelle A. Glover, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Mike Glover, May K. Monday, daughter of William Monday and Yuri Sawa, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Masamori Sawa.

• Emory & Henry College announces Ashley Sloan Billingley, daughter of Craig Billingley and Ginger Billingsley, was awarded a Bachelor’s degree in mass communications during its 160th Commencement ceremony, held Saturday, May 10. Ashley was president of Delta Omicron Pi and Sigma Mu, section editor of Sphinx Yearbook, news, managing and general editor of, served as a supplemental instructor, the recipient of the Mass Communications Outstanding Senior, Academic Excellence and Alf Goodykoontz awards and the Patrick Henry Scholarship for Academic Excellence.

• The following former Farragut and Bearden High School students were honored by Lipscomb University for academic achievement during its Spring 2008 semester: Jessica Buckley, BHS, Honor Roll; Aaron Hall, BHS, Honor Roll; Erin Brosey, BHS, Provost’s List; Evan McKee, FHS, Honor Roll, Allyson Hall, BHS, Honor Roll; Michelle Holland, FHS, Provost’s List; Sarah Wasserman, BHS, Honor Roll; Ashley Gatlin, BHS, Honor Roll; Andrew Hall, BHS, Provost’s List; Derek Allison, FHS, Provost’s List; Jessie Hitzing, FHS, Honor Roll; Christine Perry, FHS, Honor Roll; Miranda Giles, FHS, Honor Roll; Sage Woodroof, FHS, Provost’s List; Andrew Shankles, BHS, Honor Roll; Lindsey Wilkerson, FHS, Provost’s List and Jenny Randolph, BHS, Honor Roll. Students who make perfect grades while taking 12 semester hours or more are named to the Provost’s List. Students who achieve a grade-point average of 3.5 to 3.99 while taking 12 semester hours or more are named to the Honor Roll.

• Farragut High School Class of 1978 announces its 30th class reunion and golf tournament. Tournament will begin at 1 p.m., Friday, Aug. 1, at Willow Creek Golf Club. Reunion dinner will be held from 6 p.m. to midnight, Saturday, Aug. 2, at Fox Den Country Club. For further information and to register for the events, visit or contact Beth Dance at PO Box 78, Knoxville, TN 37901-0078 or 865-584-9036.

• The University of Tennessee will offer “Business Education for Talented Students,” a weeklong, residential program from Saturday, June 21, through Saturday, June 28. Program targets students from communities that have been historically underrepresented in business. There is no cost to participate. Students must have a 3.0 cumulative grade-point average. Complete eligibility requirements and application are available at Applications are being accepted through Friday, May 16.

• Pellissippi State Technical Com-munity College will offer “Free Application for Federal Student Aid Help Days” from 1 to 6 p.m., Tuesday, June 10, and from 1 to 6 p.m., Monday, July 14, in Room 101 of the Goins Administration Building on PSTCC’s Hardin Valley Campus. For additional information, call 865-694-6565.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress