Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• Farragut Primary, Intermediate and Middle Schools will hold New Student Registration at the following times: Beginning Friday, July 18, through Monday, Aug. 11, registration will be held from 1 to 3 p.m. each Monday and Tuesday and from 8 a.m. to noon each Thursday and Friday. There will be no registration hours on Wednesdays. The following exceptions apply: There will be no Primary and Intermediate School registration Monday, July 21. There will be no Middle School registration Tuesday, July 22. School begins Monday, Aug. 11. To expedite the registration process please bring the following items to registration: Tennessee School Immunization Certificate, birth certificate, social security card and proof of residence in the Farragut district. If moving from outside Knox County please include the address of your child’s previous school and, if possible, a copy of the student’s last report card.

• The University of Tennessee, Chattanooga, announces Daniel S. Long, son of Deborah & David Long, has been inducted into Upsilon Pi Epsilon, the computer science honor society, and Pi Mu Epsilon, the mathematics honor society. Daniel was awarded the Herschel V. Sellers, Jr., Mathematics Scholarship, given to an outstanding mathematics major. Daniel is majoring in computer science and mathematics and is a 2006 graduate of Knoxville Catholic High School.

• Georgia College announces Meghan Rothenberg was named to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List.

• The Georgia Institute of Techno-logy, also known as Georgia Tech, announces Zachary Christiansen and Thomas Oatts earned the distinction of Faculty Honors for spring semester 2008. Undergraduate students earning a 4.00 academic average for the semester gain the distinction of Faculty Honors.

• Boston College announces Caitlyn Castillejo has graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from the university’s College of Arts and Sciences, majoring in sociology.

• King’s College announces Lindsay Jayne Adams was named to its Spring 2008 President’s list, and William Benjamin Ferguson, Diana Joy Summers and John Samuel Ferguson were named to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List. The President’s List recognizes students who participate in at least 12 hours of academic work and achieve a perfect 4.0 semester grade point average. The Dean’s List recognizes students who participate in at least 12 hours of academic work and attain a semester grade point average within the range of 3.50 to 3.99.

• Texas State University-San Marcos has announced the following students were among its graduates during commencement ceremonies held Friday, May 9 and Saturday, May 10, at the university: Briana N. Reichert received a Bachelor’s in Mass Communication and Public Relations. Candice M. Dickerson received a Master’s in anthropology.

• Tulane University announces Caron Christison received an undergraduate degree during its 2008 Commencement Ceremony held Saturday, May 17, in the Louisiana Superdome.

• Pomona College announces David McCormick, son of Mark and Bonnie McCormick and a graduate of Farragut High School, received a Bachelor of Arts in Molecular Biology and German at the college’s Commencement Ceremony, held Sunday, May 18. While a student at Pomona, McCormick founded the Claremont Scuba Divers club. He graduated with distinction and was awarded a Fulbright fellowship to study biology at Phillips-Universitat Marburg in Germany.

• Bonny Kate Chapter, Daughter of the American Revolution has awarded a Good Citizens Award to Elizabeth Dunn of Knoxville Catholic High School. The purpose of the award is to recognize students who exemplify outstanding qualities of dependability, service, leadership and patriotism in their homes, schools and communities.

• Belmont University announces it has named Kevin Warren, a 2007 Farragut High School graduate and the son of Maria Warren and the late Brian K. Warren, to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List. Eligibility is based on a course load of 12 hours and a quality grade-point average of 3.5 with no grades below a C.

• Pellissippi State Technical Com-munity College announces it has selected Associate Professor Kathy Byrd to be the new dean of the English Department. Byrd replaces Lois Reynolds, who recently stepped down after serving in the position for 18 years. Byrd, a member of the English faculty since 1992, taught at PSTCC’s Blount County Center for 15 years and served as coordinator of the Dual Enrollment program for the past year. She taught journalism and English at Illinois State University, The University of Cincinnati and Maryville College before coming to Pellissippi State as an instructor in English. She was promoted to assistant professor in 1995 and associate professor in 1999. Byrd has been a member of the college’s Faculty Council for 11 years and served a two-year term as president. In 1998-99, she received Pellissippi State’s Outstanding Full-time Faculty award. In 2003 she was appointed by Gov. Phil Bredesen as faculty representative to the Tennessee Board of Regents, the college’s governing body. She co-chaired the Steering Committee and led the TBR Faculty Forum in Nashville in 2007.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress