Place Ad
Contact Us

school briefs

• Washington University an-nounces Catherine Graham and Gregory Holton have been named to its Spring 2008 Dean’s List. Graham is a graduate of Farragut High School and is enrolled in the university’s College of Art in the Sam Fox School of Design & Visual Arts.

To qualify for the Dean’s List in the College of Art, students must earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or above and have full-time standing with the university. Holton is a graduate of Christian Academy of Knoxville and is enrolled in the university’s School of Engineering & Applied Science. To qualify for the Dean’s List in the School of Engineering, students must earn a semester grade point average of 3.60 or above and be enrolled in at least 12 graded units.

• Pellissippi State technical Com-munity College announces the following students were named to its Summer 2008 Dean’s List: Sarah Lee Alliman, Kimberly Allred, Bradley Stephen Armstrong, Meghan Randall Favi, Elizabeth Dugan Harding, Melissa Michelle Hurst, Holly Lurry, Whitney J. Murray, Joshua Ryan Puett, Terri Elaine Rogers, Ana Elena Sava, Josh Michael Sluder, Rachel Marie Stewart, Anna Beaton Wilkes and Bianca Brigitte Worsham. To make the list a student must take a full course load and earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average.

• Farragut High School PTSO will host Fall 2008 Open House beginning at 7 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 4. There will be a brief meeting in the auditorium followed by a run-through of the students’ schedules and an opportunity for parents to meet the teachers. Attendees are asked to bring a box of tissue and hand sanitizer for use throughout the school year. For more information, call the FHS main office at 865-966-9775.

• Farragut Middle School’s 5 Star Admiral Club will hold its monthly meetings from 7:45 to 8:15 a.m., the first Tuesday of each month in the FMS Studio Theater. Club is open to all students.

• Bearden High School will hold its fall Open House from 5:30 to 8 p.m., Thursday, Sept. 4.

• Farragut Intermediate School’s Parent Teacher Association is accepting entries for National PTA’s Reflections Contest and Tennessee PTA’s Citizenship Literature and Safety Poster Contests. Deadline for Safety Poster and Citizenship Literature contests is 8 a.m., Tuesday, Nov. 11. Deadline for Reflections Contest is 8 a.m., Tuesday, Oct. 11. For additional information, rules and entry forms, see the FIS PTA Web site at

• Knox County Schools Office of Student Assistance Services is developing an application for funds under No Child Left Behind: Title IVA: The Safe and Drug Free Schools and Communities Act. The goal of this Act is to ensure all students and staff exist in school environments that are safe, drug free and conducive to learning. KCS invites students, families and community members to submit suggestions or comments related to the development of this applications to: Marty Iroff Knox County Schools Office of Student Assistance Services 801 Tipton Ave. Knoxville, TN 37920 or by e-mail to iroffml@k12tn. Net. For additional information, call 865-573-5144 Ext. 1070.

• Knox County Schools Adult Education will hold registration for free Beginning, Intermediate and Advanced English classes for adults whose native language is not English each Monday at 9 a.m., at Cokesbury Center, located at 9908 Kingston Pike. For additional information, call 865-594-3622.

• Friedman School of Nutrition Science and Policy at Tufts University announces Alyssa Bishop was among its Spring 2008 graduates. Bishop received a Doctor of Medicine degree.

• Farragut Intermediate School’s Parent Teacher Association will hold Family Fun Night Friday, Feb. 27. Anyone interested in helping may e-mail Tina Keener at

• Maryville College announces the following students were among its 2008 graduates: Jason Bowman, son of Michael and Carolyn Bowman; Karen Buckham, daughter of Edwin and Wendy Buckham; Zachary Craig, son of Jeffrey and Mardi Craig; Evan Giordano (magna cum laude), son of Larry and Kristie Giordano; Kala Handagama, daughter of Naresh and Charmi Handagama; Jeremy Holliday, son of Cynthia Holliday; Amy Hoover (magna cum laude), daughter of Wayne and Maureen Hoover; Erin Mentzer (magna cum laude), daughter of John and Brenda Mentzer; Kevin Newton, son of John and Pamela Newton; Rebecca Saults, daughter of Robert and Linda Saults; Stephen Shankles, son of Roland and Karen Shankles; Emily Allen, daughter of Christopher and Lynnette Allen; Kari Berdal, daughter of Alan and Darla Berdal and Summer Dalton (cum laude), daughter of Paul and Diane Dalton.

• Samford University announces Jessica Abby Dunn has been selected a member of the inaugural class of University Fellows. Dunn, a recent graduate of Farragut High School, is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Rick Dunn. The highly competitive University Fellows program, Samford’s premiere academic offering for undergraduates, engages students in small seminar-style classes and unique in-depth learning opportunities. Fellows receive funding for undergraduate research and a two-week study trip to Rome, Italy. Less than seven percent of this year’s Samford freshmen were selected to be University Fellows.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville has named Frank Merry as its new development director.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress