Place Ad
Contact Us

school happenings

• Pellissippi State technical Community College announces it has renamed its performing arts center to Clayton Performing Arts Center in lieu of a $1 million gift from the Clayton family.

• Webb School of Knoxville invites all parents of students interested in applying to grades 6 through 12 for the 2009-2010 school year to an Admissions Open House beginning at 9 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 3, in Webb School’s Central Building (parking available in Lot D, E or F). For more information, call Sarah Lowe at 865- 291-3830.

• Webb School of Knoxville’s Lower School, kindergarten through fifth grade, will host an Admissions Open House beginning at 9 a.m., Thursday, Dec. 4, in Lower School Commons. Interested parents are invited to learn about education and admissions at Webb from school president Scott Hutchinson and Lower School director Angie Crabtree. To RSVP or for more information, call Deborah Gross at 865- 291-3864.

• In celebration of its 10th birthday, Greenway School invites all 1999-2008 graduates and their parents to attend a reunion at the school from 12:30 to 2:30 p.m., Friday, Nov. 28. A pizza lunch and birthday cake will be served. For more information or to RSVP, call 865-777-0197 or e-mail School’s address is 544 Canton Hollow Road, 37934.

• Webb School of Knoxville an-nounces the following students have qualified for the national Advanced Placement Scholar Award by scoring at least four on a five-point scale on all AP exams taken: Erin Lauer, Greer Mackebee and Peyton Miller. The following students qualified for the AP Honor with Distinction Award for for earning an average of 3.5 on all AP exams taken: Matthew Adams, Anne Allen, Jonathan Anderson, Sam Bacon, Hunter Banister, Abhit Bhandari, Anjali Bisaria, Mary Emily Christiansen, Cassidy Duckett, Harris Googe, Kelsey Gross, Alex Hashemian, John Haydek, Zach Hethmon, Kathleen Horton, Adri Kopp, Ethan Lai, Erin Lauer, Paul Lee, Greer Mackebe, Neel Madhukar, Ryan Markman, Peyton Miller, Alex Moore, Henry Neilson, Geoff Spahr, Lauren Toppenberg, Carolyn Treasure, Sonia Trevino-Dopatka and Will Tullock. The following students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honors Award by earning at least a 3.25 on all AP exams taken: Aftyn Behn, Kayla Berry, Brandt Campbell, Brie Coyle, Reyner Crosby, Andrew Daley, Ann Ding, Lizzie Mamantov , Dillon Saas, Juhee Shah, H.J. Shannon, Emily Simonds, Sneha Thakur and Anna Yoder. The following students earned the designation of AP Scholar by receiving a grade of three or higher on three or more AP exams: Sarah Allan, Paige Ayres, Stephen Brandow, Craig Brott, Katherine Charles, Rachel Coffey, John Conrad, Margaux Cooper, Susanne Davis, Tori Gibbs, Chris Haydek, Katie Ivy , Caitlin Kennedy, Kelley Kidd, Jake Knanishu, Will McDonough, Austin Moore, Nick Morrow, Ann Newsom, Tommy Nguyen, Ram Patel, Preston Peeden, Eric Phillips, Brittany Preston, Zack Rescoe, Ali Riegel, Asher Robinson, Neal Robinson, Jordan Sharp, Katie Jane Stewart and Rob Tatgenhorst.

• Lipscomb University announces Michelle Holland, a Farragut High School graduate, has been elected president of Pi Delta, one of Lipscomb’s 13 social clubs. Because Lipscomb is a distinctively Christian university, it does not offer a traditional Greek system of fraternities and sororities. About 20 percent of the undergraduate student body participate in social clubs. Activities include a variety of service projects, intramural athletics, the annual “Singarama” musical and more.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville announces it has named sophomore Mackenzie Snider as its Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminar representative. Mackenzie was nominated by CAK faculty and staff. HOBY Leadership Seminars are designed for high school sophomores to recognize their leadership talents and apply them in becoming effective, ethical leaders in their home, schools, workplace and community.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville announces the following students have earned Advanced Placement Scholar Awards in recognition of their outstanding achievement on the AP exams. Luke Benowitz, Nancy Childers, Melissa Saird, Joseph Sills, Tyler Whitney and Molly Zaczyk were awarded the AP Scholar with Distinction Award; Jonathan Beckner, Hailey Carlson, Valen Emmert, Aaron Holmes, Lauren Loy and George Stanford were awarded the AP Scholar with Honors Award and Joshua Bergenback, Paige Berry, Kathryn Cunningham, Richard Cunningham, Jordan Duncan, Jennifer Gibson, Chelsea Gray, William High, Molly Hoy, Callie Jernigan, Kendall Payne, David Pearson, Stephanie Pearson, Andrew Pharaoh, Elisa Platillero, James Scott, Casey Smith and Elizabeth Stewart were awarded the AP Scholar Award.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress