Place Ad
Contact Us

school happenings

• Lipscomb University an-nounces Andrew Hall and Andrew Shankle, both Bearden high School graduates, have been inducted into the Tennessee Kappa Chapter of the Alpha Chi National Honor Scholarship Society. Alpha Chi is a national college scholarship honor society that promotes outstanding character and academic excellence in all disciplines. Undergraduate inductees into the Tennessee Kappa Chapter have completed at least 24 semester hours at Lipscomb, represent the top 10 percent of the junior class and the top 10 percent of the senior class and exemplify Alpha Chi’s core values.

• Southern Intercollegiate Athlete Conference announces former Farragut Admiral student/football player Michael Wright, class of 2005, was awarded 1st Team All Conference honors. Wright is a senior at Kentucky State University and is graduating in December after only three-and one-half years at KSU with a degree in Business Management. Wright is applying for law school in fall 2009 at The University of Tennessee, Knoxville and UK Lexington among other schools.

• Registration for Roane State Community College’s spring semester is under way. Students need to apply for admission and be accepted before they can register for classes. Students who have not applied for admission are encouraged to contact the admissions office at 865-882-4523. The phone numbers for individual capuses are: Roane County, 865-882-4523; Oak Ridge, 865-481-2002; Campbell County, 423-562-7021; Cumberland County, 931-456-9880; Fentress County, 931-752-8320; Knox County Center for Health Sciences865-539-6904; Loudon County, 865-986-1525; Morgan County, 423-346-8700 and Scott County, 423-663-3878. Classes begin Jan. 15.

• Webb School of Knoxville’s Lower School, kindergarten through fifth grade, will host an Admissions Open House beginning at 9 a.m., Thursday, Dec. 4, in Lower School Commons. Interested parents are invited to learn about education and admissions at Webb from school president Scott Hutchinson and Lower School director Angie Crabtree. To RSVP or for more information, call Deborah Gross at 865-291-3864.

• Maryville College will host “Einstein Revealed: Relatively Speaking” by Dr. Roger Miller, associate professor of physicist, beginning at 7:30 p.m., in the college’s Lawson Auditorium. Event is free and open to public. For more information, call Misty Gillespie at 865-981-8164 or e-mail

• King College in Bristol announces it has begun phase one of a project to add a new medical school to its campus, with hopes it will welcome its first students in 2012. For more information, visit

• Pellissippi State technical Community College announces it has renamed its performing arts center to Clayton Performing Arts Center in lieu of a $1 million gift from the Clayton family.

• Webb School of Knoxville announces the following students have qualified for the national Advanced Placement Scholar Award by scoring at least four on a five-point scale on all AP exams taken: Erin Lauer, Greer Mackebee and Peyton Miller. The following students qualified for the AP Honor with Distinction Award for for earning an average of 3.5 on all AP exams taken: Matthew Adams, Anne Allen, Jonathan Anderson, Sam Bacon, Hunter Banister, Abhit Bhandari, Anjali Bisaria, Mary Emily Christiansen, Cassidy Duckett, Harris Googe, Kelsey Gross, Alex Hashemian, John Haydek, Zach Hethmon, Kathleen Horton, Adri Kopp, Ethan Lai, Erin Lauer, Paul Lee, Greer Mackebe, Neel Madhukar, Ryan Markman, Peyton Miller, Alex Moore, Henry Neilson, Geoff Spahr, Lauren Toppenberg, Carolyn Treasure, Sonia Trevino-Dopatka and Will Tullock. The following students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honors Award by earning at least a 3.25 on all AP exams taken: Aftyn Behn, Kayla Berry, Brandt Campbell, Brie Coyle, Reyner Crosby, Andrew Daley, Ann Ding, Lizzie Mamantov , Dillon Saas, Juhee Shah, H.J. Shannon, Emily Simonds, Sneha Thakur and Anna Yoder. The following students earned the designation of AP Scholar by receiving a grade of three or higher on three or more AP exams: Sarah Allan, Paige Ayres, Stephen Brandow, Craig Brott, Katherine Charles, Rachel Coffey, John Conrad, Margaux Cooper, Susanne Davis, Tori Gibbs, Chris Haydek, Katie Ivy , Caitlin Kennedy, Kelley Kidd, Jake Knanishu, Will McDonough, Austin Moore, Nick Morrow, Ann Newsom, Tommy Nguyen, Ram Patel, Preston Peeden, Eric Phillips, Brittany Preston, Zack Rescoe, Ali Riegel, Asher Robinson, Neal Robinson, Jordan Sharp, Katie Jane Stewart and Rob Tatgenhorst.

• Lipscomb University an-nounces Michelle Holland, a Farragut High School graduate, has been elected president of Pi Delta, one of Lipscomb’s 13 social clubs. Because Lipscomb is a distinctively Christian university, it does not offer a traditional Greek system of fraternities and sororities. About 20 percent of the undergraduate student body participate in social clubs. Activities include a variety of service projects, intramural athletics, the annual “Singarama” musical and more.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville announces it has named sophomore Mackenzie Snider as its Hugh O’Brien Youth Leadership Seminar representative. Mackenzie was nominated by CAK faculty and staff. HOBY Leadership Seminars are designed for high school sophomores to recognize their leadership talents and apply them in becoming effective, ethical leaders in their home, schools, workplace and community.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville announces the following students have earned Advanced Placement Scholar Awards in recognition of their outstanding achievement on the AP exams. Luke Benowitz, Nancy Childers, Melissa Saird, Joseph Sills, Tyler Whitney and Molly Zaczyk were awarded the AP Scholar with Distinction Award; Jonathan Beckner, Hailey Carlson, Valen Emmert, Aaron Holmes, Lauren Loy and George Stanford were awarded the AP Scholar with Honors Award and Joshua Bergenback, Paige Berry, Kathryn Cunningham, Richard Cunningham, Jordan Duncan, Jennifer Gibson, Chelsea Gray, William High, Molly Hoy, Callie Jernigan, Kendall Payne, David Pearson, Stephanie Pearson, Andrew Pharaoh, Elisa Platillero, James Scott, Casey Smith and Elizabeth Stewart were awarded the AP Scholar Award.

• Christian Academy of Knoxville announces senior Lucas Wilson was named “Savvi Young Man of the Year” by Knoxville Teen Board. Lucas was selected for having the largest amount of service hours, more than 200, in Teen Board projects and for being involved in the largest variety of projects.

• Roane State Community College reminds students who have signed up for classes during the early registration period must pay their fees on or before Dec. 9 to avoid deletion of their class schedules. Students can pay fees online at All Roane State campuses are accepting fee payments. Students may contact the campus nearest them for more information. The phone numbers are: Roane County, 865-882-4515; Oak Ridge, 865-481-2014; Campbell County, 865-562-7021; Cumberland County, 865-456-9880; Fentress County, 931-752-8320; Knox County Center for Health Sciences, 865-539-6904; Loudon County, 865-986-1525; Morgan County, 423-346-8700 and Scott County, 423-663-3878.

• Farragut High School will present “Broadway Babylon,” an interactive murder myster by Peter DePietro beginning at 7:30 p.m., Dec. 4-6, and beginning at 3 p.m., Dec. 7, at FHS Wells Auditorium. Patrons should arrive early for a red-carpet surprise. Refreshments will be served during the performance. Ticket prices are $10 for adults and $6 for students. For more information call 865-671-7167.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress