Place Ad
Contact Us

school happenings

• Farragut High School announces 134 of its students have earned Advanced Placement Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the AP exams. The College Board’s AP Program provides motivated and academically prepared students the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school and to earn college credit, advanced placement or both for successful performance on the AP exams.

• The following 107 Farragut High School juniors and seniors were inducted into the National Honor Society Tuesday, Oct. 7 at FHS: Senior students — Lauren Attanasio, Brittney Barnwell, Kelley Blankenship, William Bragg, Joanna Cannata, Daniel Cash, Kellen Catani, Christine Day, Danielle Defayette, Abby Ellis, Andre Espino, Taylor Foy, Russell Graves, Trevor Grieco, Cason Hewgley, Jim Hollingsworth, Lauren Hughes, Tom Jarvis, Natasha Jaszay, Anna King, Angus Maclellan, Anna Manneschmidt, Emily Manneschmidt, Christina Marcenkus, Trevor Marquand, Danielle Phillips, Britney Reveiz, Connor Stank, Morgan Stridde, Patrick Thomas, and Mary Wade. Junior students — Dana Agalarova, Allison Armstrong, Matthew Berman, Jesse Bostic, Emma Brand, Nathan Budge, Ariel Buehler, Jason Chan, Hunkyo Chung, Megan Corrier, Spencer Cross, Shreyas Dahotre, Thomas Dai, Erin Davenport, Joshua Delaney, Megan Dyer, Samuel Eddy, Corey Ehinger, Hao Feng, Iman Ferdjallah, Michelle Ferrer-Garcia, Holly Ann Gary, Agatha Gornisiewicz, Clayton Gotwals, Chrisopher Charles Griffin, Amie Guo, Sulman Haque, Katherine Herbst, Preston Hewgley, Alex Houck, Julia Hsu, Kathleen Huang, Melissa Icenhour, David Inso, Muntaser Islam, David Jordan, Christina Kihm, Lauren Krouse, Chris LaBorde, Meredith Manning, Stewart Martens, Zachary Mason, Elissa Massie, Amanda Medio, Katherine Dell Morrow, Sam Mowery, Sarah Murphy, Tyler Noland, Evan Noon, Trevor Ross Overman, Nithya Paranthaman, Nesha Patel, Cristen Peterson, Caitlin Powers, Jocelyn Reddy, Christopher Rubens, Zachary Saunders, Kendrick Schuettler, Hannah Simpkins, Mary Cathryn Suhocki, Travis Sullivan, Ross Tharp, Sammy Thomas, Minh Ngoc Tran, Amanda Tranum, Mollie Tranum, Zane Anthony Troyer, Joe Ulrich, Alex Patrick Vaz, Peri Winborne, Greg Woo, Ruoke Yang, Kevin Ye, Sueyeon Yoon, Bailee Young and Joshua Zimmer. National Honor Society is open to juniors and seniors who have met certain criteria for community service, school service and academic achievement. Students who have a overall 3.5 grade point average and have volunteered at the high school and community can apply each fall. FHS Teachers Jane Barnes and Angie Buckman are the academic advisors for National Honor Society.

• Hardin Valley Academy is asking parents and community members to drop off old cell phones at its main office. HVA will recycle the phones and use the funds to pay for its first prom, which will be held in April. For more information, contact HVA at 865-690-9690.

• Appalachian State University announces Christopher T. Lucas, a Farragut High School graduate, has earned a position on its Fall Semester 2008 Dean’s List. To be included on list a student must be enrolled for 12 to 14 hours of coursework for which quality points are computed and attain a grade-point average of 3.45 or better, or be enrolled fro a minimum of 15 hours of coursework for which quality points are computed and attain a GPA of 3.25 or better. Lucas’ GPA was 3.40 on a 4.00 scale.

• Roane State Community College announces Dan Foltz-Gray, associate professor of English, has received Tennessee Association for Developmental Education’s 2008 award for “Outstanding Service to Developmental Education Students.” Honor recognizes long-term contributions to developmental education students by a TNADE member. Foltz-Gray has worked at RSCC for 30 years and teaches at both the Scott County and Oak Ridge campuses.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress