Place Ad
Contact Us

school happenings

• Spencer Blake Cornett, son of Jeff and Danya Cornett, and a Farragut High School junior, has been selected to attend the Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University Aerospace and Technology Leadership Seminar June 14-20, at Embry-Riddle University in Daytona Beach, Fla. Spencer is one of the 300 out of 80,000 NJROTC students chosen to attend the event. Cornett, who is the Commanding Officer of the FHS Navy Jr. ROTC unit, was selected by Embry-Riddle based upon academics and leadership abilities. Spencer also has been selected to attend Tennessee American Legion Boys State Program in May at Tennessee Technological University. This program is designed to teach participants to put into practice the theories of government through participation in city, county and state governments organized as a “Mythical 51st State.”

• Kimberly-Clark Foundation announces Dennis Meng of Farragut High School, son of Xiquan “Michael” and Xiaoou “Cheryl” Meng, has been awarded one of its Bright Futures Scholarships. Dennis will receive up to $5,000 per year as a full-time student studying at an accredited college or university.

 • The following students enrolled at Virginia Tech were named to the dean’s list for the fall 2008 semester: Jeffrey D. Walls, Calvin R. Lear, Caroline P. Conley and Margaret D. Morris. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average on a 4.0 scale during the semester.

• The College of Nursing at The University of Tennessee announces it will offer upper division nursing courses in its RN to BSN program online. Interested persons need to contact the College of Nursing Student Services Office at 865-974-7606 for additional information and advising appointments.

• Pellissippi State Technical Community College announces graphic design student Cordelia Norris was awarded the prestigious American Advertising Federation award during Knoxville’s annual ADDY Awards ceremony in February. Norris won the award for her work on a Neiman Marcus brochure.

• Roane State Community College announces, according to data recently released by the Tennessee Board of Regents, it has the highest retention rate of all community colleges in Tennessee.

• Hardin Valley Academy an-nounces its PTSA recently was awarded first-place for Scrap-booking, first-place for Volunteer Service and a Rookie Award for being a first-year school and PTSA at the Tennessee PTSA Convention.

• The University of Tennessee announces 15 of the nation’s top students have accepted its invitation to become 2009 Haslam Scholars, including Madelyn Crawford, from Farragut High School, who plans to major in chemistry. Haslam Scholars will be part of an intimate study group mentored by top UT faculty. Program benefits include a $1,500 laptop computer and a study-abroad experience valued at $4,000, as well as up to $5,500 to support a senior research thesis and travel to present their work. Haslam Scholars also will receive a Chancellor's scholarship -- now the top academic scholarship — which provides annual award amounts between $7,000 and $10,000.

• Pellissippi State Community College will host Information Night at the following times: from 5:30 to 7 p.m., Monday, May 18, at Magnolia Avenue Campus and from 5:30 to 7 p.m., on Division Street Campus. Prospective students will have the chance to find out about Pellissippi State and its many programs, obtain tips on being a successful student, take a campus tour and discuss advising, financial aid and registration with representatives from the college. Services for Students With Disabilities also will be on hand.

• Ashland University announces Candace Reid has completed the requirements to receiver a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration, majoring in hospitality management. Reid will receive her degree in May.

• Hardin Valley Academy an-nounces the following officers have been elected for the 2009-2010 school year: Sandra Rowcliffe, president; Charllet Owens, first vice president; Cathy Honken, second vice president; John Alpers, third vice presicent; Sherry Bailey, secretary and Mary Ann Riley, treasurer. The newly elected officers will be looking to fill the following committee vacancies: Legislative Chair Cultural Arts Chair, Directory Chair Project Graduation Chair, Baccala-ureate Chair and Senior Celebration Chair. Although chair positions are filled in the following areas, PTSA will need much assistance with regard to service on committees. The following committees are open to new members: Legislative, Cultural Arts Directory, Senior activities-Project Graduation, Sr. Celebration, Baccalaureate Pro-grams, Parent Volunteers, Special Events, Hospitality Membership, Ways & Means, Corporate Incentives, Partners in Education, Grant writing, Buildings and Grounds, Citizenship, Health & Safety, Newsletter and Public Relations.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress