Place Ad
Contact Us

Chamber elects new Board

Farragut West Knox Chamber of Commerce has named its newly-elected Board of Directors for 2009-2010.

“Their basic duties are to support the Chamber; they are the governing Board of the Chamber,” Chamber president and CEO Bettye Sisco said.

“Their duties require attending meetings, helping make decisions about the Chamber and the things that we do, being guideposts, so to speak,” she added.

The Board of Directors members participate on committees and represent the Chamber at as many events and networkings as possible.

“We have a rotating Board, so every year there is a process of rotating some off and adding new ones,” Sisco said.

Directors can serve two three-year terms.

Mike Such, Junk Bee Gone, was named chairman for his second term.

“Our goal is just to continue to strengthen the Chamber and support the members within the Chamber itself … to help them through the tough times we are in with all the support we can give them,” Such said.

“And obviously, [we want to] continue to grow. There are a lot of businesses out there who could benefit from the Chamber if they were a part of it.

“We’re going to continue to reach out and continue to grow our membership,” he added.

Tonya Vest, FSG Bank, was named vice-chair and Jamie Nicely, Balanced Books & Payroll, is secretary/treasurer.

“My involvement with the Chamber has shown it to be a strong and supportive network for individuals and business members,” Vest said. 

“The many benefits offered by the Chamber allow businesses to grow, which in turn strengthens our community. 

“As a Board Member, I would strongly encourage all new businesses to join the Chamber and get acquainted with your business neighbors through one of the many networking opportunities,” she added.

“The Farragut Chamber has been a great help to our company as a whole in developing our business and networking within the community, as well as giving us opportunities to give back,” Nicely said.

“I hope to continue that trend while volunteering my services to help manage the finances of the Chamber,” she added.

New Board members include Darla Berdal, Myers Bros. Holdings Inc., David Loving, Baptist Hospital West, and Lonn Reas, TDS Telecom. None were available for comment.

Other Board members include Mitchell Adams, Vivian Akins, Don Ball, Emily Cox, Jim DeTar, Richard Disharoon, Les Fout, Stacey M. Handel, Keith Meese, Jody Myers and Tim Williams.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress