Place Ad
Contact Us

Thompson wins cross country AAA crown

Joanna Thompson capped an impressive cross-country career the best way possible: as a state champion.

This Knoxville Catholic senior won the Class AAA Girls Cross Country State Meet, finishing 17:51.10 among a 191-runner field, at Percy Warner Steeplechase Course in Nashville Saturday, Nov. 6.

While Thompson, along with Lady Irish teammate Ashley Welborn's 18th-place finish (19:55.69), led KCHS to an eighth-place team finish (261),

Hardin Valley Academy, Region 2-AAA runner-up to region and state champ Oak Ridge, finished third (140).

Five Lady Hawks finished in the top 51, led by sophomore Hannah Feiten's 17th-place effort (19:55.0).

“She had a great race, this was her first state meet,” HVA head coach Bryan Brown said, adding the third-place effort “was the best [state] finish by any girls team in school history.”

Lady Hawks freshman Karlie Yinger was 29th, followed by junior Brittany Waggoner (43rd), one spot ahead of freshman Alexandra Christopoulos (44th).

Senior Sadie Yinger was 51st, while Alexis Hewitt and Kyla Pelletier also contributed.

Bearden junior Rebecca Stover, who grabbed All-state honors with a ninth-place finish (19:35.92), perhaps could have improved upon that effort except for a recent injury.

“She hurt her hip flexor in a [soccer] game the Saturday before,” said BHS head coach Steve Prince, adding his BHS girls finished ahead of rival Farragut in KIL, region and state “for the first time since 1976.”

“This is the best [girls] team I've ever had coaching in 20 years,” Prince added. “Our fourth-place [region] finish was the second-best ever [third in 2001], so I can't be too disappointed.”

Other key BHS contributors in 2010 included four freshmen — Tru Powell, Alisa Harvey, Chase Henry and Amanda Granger — plus lone senior, Allie Migun, and sophomore Tabitha Colter.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress