Place Ad
Contact Us

C-SPAN honors HVA, FMS students

Representatives of C-SPAN came to Farragut Middle School and Hardin Valley Academy to honor local student winners of StudentCam 2011.

StudentCam is an annual documentary competition that encourages students to create short films about political and public policy matters. This year’s theme — “Washington, DC, Through My Lens” — asked middle- and high-school students to address issues directly impacting their communities.

In addition to the ceremonies at both schools congratulating students on their first, second, third and honorable mention Prizes, which in total came with prizes of $9,250 at Farragut Middle School and $250 at Hardin Valley Academy, students at both schools learned more about the C-SPAN mission and the online C-SPAN Video Library.

The winners were:

• Farragut Middle School:

First Prize – Melissa Yu, Katy Becker and Sara Atkins: Net Neutrality: The Federal Government's Role in Our “Online Community"

Second Prize – Ian Hodge, Daniel Hong and Chunyang Ding: "ORNL: The Lab That Made the City"

Second Prize – Ani Perumalla, Kai Smith and Alex Guard: "Calming the Economic Storm: The Bush Tax Cuts"

Third Prize – Mickayla Stogsdill, Caroline Woody, and Megan Smits: "Ashes to Ashes: EPA, Don't Let Kingston Down"

Third Prize – Elizabeth Keeling and Kendall Clay: "College Checklist – Tuition, Dorm, Health Care Reform"

Third Prize – Susanna Hogg, Sierra Sims and Sara Zetterberg: "Green Money"

Third Prize – Andrea Dai, Katie Fowlkes and Danielle Goldfeld: "Home Foreclosures: A Nationwide Crisis"

Honorable Mention – Heather Dickerson, Taylor Duncan and Molly Rodabaugh: "School Lunches"

• Hardin Valley Academy,

Student winner:

Honorable Mention – Gloria Yu: "Education: Tennessee's Race to the Top"ᕢ


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress