Place Ad
Contact Us

Lines redrawn for state House, Senate districts; U.S. Congress lines changed

The state’s recently approved changes to district lines — done in response to the 2010 census — will mean changes for farragutpress readers.

The biggest changes will occur in the State House districts, in which District 14 Rep. Ryan Haynes currently represents Farragut and Hardin Valley.

Under the new plan, Dist. 14 now will end at Interstate 40/75, so Farragut voters north of the Interstate will be in a newly formed District 89. District 89 also will include Hardin Valley and Karns.

“The 14th District will lose the communities of Solway and Hardin Valley and kind of North Campbell Station. I hate to lose those areas ... but they will be getting a new district out there,” Haynes said.

“Essentially, in Knox County, the population has grown so much that we will have one more voice representing us in Nashville, and that’s a good thing for our community,” he added.

In the State Senate, the Knoxville Metropolitan area will be split into three districts — as it was in the last plan approved in 2002 — in districts 5, 6 and 7. Sen. Stacey Campfield represents District 7, Sen. Becky Duncan Massey will represent District 6 and Sen. Randy McNally represents District 5.

Farragut is in Campfield’s district.

Although Campfield’s district is set to change, including more of North Knox County, Farragut will remain unchanged in District 7.

The state redistricting changes weren’t without critics.

In a statement, Senate Democratic Caucus chairman Lowe Finney said, “With [the] vote to approve redistricting maps in the Senate, the majority party rushed a process that amounted to a secret reverse election.

“The redistricting process should not be conducted this way. Tennesseans deserve openness and proper deliberation regarding such sweeping legislation,” he added.

The GOP, however, lauded the new districts: “I want to congratulate the hard work House Speaker Beth Harwell, Lt. Gov. Ron Ramsey, and our Republican leadership have done on redistricting,” Tennessee GOP chairman Chris Devaney said in a statement.

“They have passed a plan with bipartisan support that is fair, legal and represents the changing demographics of our state,” he added.

The state legislature also approved alterations to the U.S. representative districts, including U.S. Congressman John J. Duncan Jr.’s second district — which includes Knox, Blount, Loudon, Monroe and McMinn counties, plus part of Sevier County.

Duncan’s seat will change substantially.

Duncan would still represent District 2, but the new District would include Knox, Blount, Loudon, Grainger, Claiborne and parts of Campbell and Jefferson counties. Duncan lives in Farragut.

The changes mean District 2 would see a population that is at least 14 percent new.

Lieutenant Gov. Ron Ramsey and Speaker of the House Beth Harwell issued the joint proposal redrawing Tennessee’s nine congressional districts.

In a news release, the pair said, “The 2010 census revealed that three of Tennessee’s districts deviated from their ideal population of 705,123 by more than 80,000 people. Federal law requires that congressional districts be exactly equal in population.

“In addition to equalizing population counts ... [the] proposed map would correct decades of illogical gererymandering by Democratic-led legislatures and better recognize Tennessee’s regional distinctions.”

Changes to East Tennessee districts largely were made to pair Ft. Campbell and Department of Energy facilities in Oak Ridge into the same district, Dist. 7, according to the release.


News | Opinion | Sports | Business | Community | Schools | Obituaries | Announcements
Classifieds | Place Ad | Advertising | Contact Us | Archives | Search

© 2004-2017 farragutpress